Clearwater and Hubbard Counties Lake of the Woods and Roseau Counties Ballotpedia provides comprehensive coverage of the 100 largest cities in America by population. The response to COVID-19 has impacted access to courthouses and may change the way cases are handled. Assistant Chief Judge Links to the district courts are listed by county in the Overview Tab below. Judges of the Minnesota District Courts are all chosen in nonpartisan elections to serve six-year terms. .courts-container hr {background-color:#f0a236;padding-bottom:2px;}, Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals • U.S. District Court: District of Minnesota • U.S. Bankruptcy Court: District of Minnesota, Minnesota Supreme Court Click here to contact us for media inquiries, and please donate here to support our continued expansion. The 9th District serves the counties of Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau. Can you tell us what they are? Corey Harbott: Mr. Harbott works as an assistant public defender out of the Crookston, Minnesota office handling primarily felony criminal cases. Others are strictly drug offenses. if(document.getElementsByClassName("reference").length==0) if(document.getElementById('Footnotes')!==null) document.getElementById('Footnotes') = 'none'; Ballotpedia features 318,406 encyclopedic articles written and curated by our professional staff of editors, writers, and researchers. It encompasses Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake-Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau counties. Online Parenting Programs Candidates must either pay a filing fee or submit a petition in place of the fee.[5]. This court is outside of that coverage scope and does not receive scheduled updates. He is up for election in November, in Minnesota, In the ninth district treatment courts have a lot to do with the work you do. Duffy is a team member for the Pennington County DWI Court. A: Yes treatment courts. [2], The chief judge of each district court is selected by peer vote for a two-year term. Jana Austad This court is part of the Ninth Judicial District. His community activities include being a member of the Thief River Falls Eagles Club as well as volunteering with Thief River Falls Just for Kix. Two of those judge seats are contested. Search Request Form - PDF. Back to Top, Online Parent Education Programs Minnesota is one of 43 states that hold elections for judicial positions. If you would like to help our coverage scope grow, consider donating to Ballotpedia. • Minnesota Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, Courts in Minnesota • Minnesota judicial elections • Judicial selection in Minnesota. Court Administrator. • Minnesota Tax Court This office does not hear any cases. What Court Staff Can and Can't Do For You, Administrative Orders & District Policies, Reimbursement Rate for Attorney's Fees and Costs, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, and Red Lake County. The Pennington County Courthouse is located in Thief River Falls, MN. For case-specific questions, please contact the district court in the county in which your case is filed. Information in the calendar is subject to the, Parenting Resource Center, Austin, (507) 437-8330, True Foundation Counseling Services, Brooklyn Park, (763) 657-1551, Fergus Falls Community Education, Fergus Falls, (218) 998-0544, Friends Against Abuse, International Falls, (218) 285-7220, Roseau County Northwest Mediation Services, Roseau, (218) 425-3106. Court proceedings happen in the specific district courts that serve each county. The courses attended by parents must meet the Parent Education Minimum Standards. Chief Judge The large size of the current court is because both the population of the western states and the geographic jurisdiction of the Ninth Circuit have increased dramatically since the U.S. Congress created the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in 1891. Ninth Judicial District Administration is an administrative office overseeing the district courts in 17 counties in Northwest Minnesota. District Court Judges The current District Court Judges are: Judge Heidi Chandler; Judge Korey Wahwassuck; Judge Sarah McBroom; Court Links. Sitting judges must run for re-election if they wish to serve additional terms. Aitkin and Crow Wing Counties Children in Between, For General Information: Back to Top, Online Parent Education Programs Primary: She ran unopposed in the primary on August 12, 2014. This calendar is posted at 7:00 a.m. each business day and updated hourly throughout the day. Parents Forever Contact Us. .courts-header { font-size:150%;background-color:#334aab;color:white;} Printed calendars located outside the courtrooms or in public lobbies contain the most current daily calendar information. Itasca County District Court ; Ninth Judicial District; Minnesota State court System; District Court Fees; View All /QuickLinks.aspx. We have really two kinds. Each district is made up of two to 17 counties, with the exception of the Second District (Ramsey County) and the Fourth District (Hennepin County). We would like to show you a description here but the site won’t allow us. Effective July 1, 1959, the Minnesota Judicial Branch was divided into 10 judicial districts for administrative purposes, per Minn. Stat. This includes 17 counties and three tribal nations of the 24 judge seats. 100 largest cities in America by population, Minnesota Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, Minnesota local trial court judicial elections, 2020, Minnesota local trial court judicial elections, 2019, Minnesota local trial court judicial elections, 2018, Minnesota local trial court judicial elections, 2017, Minnesota local trial court judicial elections, 2016,, Tracking election disputes, lawsuits, and recounts, Ballotpedia's Daily Presidential News Briefing, Submit a photo, survey, video, conversation, or bio. Search Request Form - Word Format. Candidates file with either the county auditor of the county in which they reside or the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State.