WIN. Many chocolate brands call out if their product is vegan, but check the … Same deal. Fry’s Cream Bars. For your soy milk, almond milk and non-dairy ice cream delight. Add your favorite non-dairy milk and you’re good to go. All Rights Reserved. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos. Vegan swap: You're in luck. 10 Things I Learned During My Body Transformation, Spicy Bloody Mary Recipes to Heat Up Your Brunch Game, 10 Healthy Cereal Options with Whole Grains and Low Sugar. Refined sugar from sugarcane can be produced using—wait for it—animal bones. Copyright © 2019 Her Campus Media LLC. But these diets, particularly veganism, may also boost your risk of … This is the plant-based version made from mushrooms or yeast. But you may be happy to know that more companies are starting to use plant-based options. Oreos. And Oreos are just one of many junk foods to make PETA's "Accidentally Vegan" list. Another food that prides itself on butter flavor, yet has none. That buttery taste you love in Ritz Crackers and Pillsbury Crescent Rolls? Credit: Vegan swap: While vegan alcohol is more common than not, you can make sure of it by checking this list from barnivore.com, or calling up the manufacturer. Vegan swap: Not all companies use this filtering method, and alternative sugar sources don't either. This usually means it's animal-based, unless it says otherwise. Just sub an egg substitute like a tablespoon chia seeds and some almond milk or a few tablespoons of apple sauce and you’re seconds away from gooey vegan brownies. Bring on the crumbs! © Copyright 2020 Meredith Corporation. In Brown Sugar, Blueberry and Strawberry. But now vegans can rejoice – Smucker’s has made a gelatin-free version AKA vegan marshmallow fix is possible. Paradoxical, but we dig it. Vegans everywhere will tell you this. The easiest way to make sure your soup is vegan? Krasimira Dicheva / Shutterstock, Credit: We may earn a commission for anything you purchase through links on this page. But, get this—have you ever heard of lanolin? Swedish Fish. Even many canned soups such as Campbell's Healthy Request Vegetable soup contain animal stock. Vegan swap: Choose a vitamin D2–fortified food or supplement. Twenty months and 17 pounds later, I came away with 10 big lessons. We know, we were shocked and fascinated as well, and lead to question exactly what is in these food products. We suggest you pair these with some of that chocolate frosting mentioned above. Carmine, also called cochineal, is a deep red pigment produced by crushing the bodies of cochineal insects—and it's used in many food colorings. This snack staple's original flavor is vegan. In Chocolate, Oatmeal Macaroon, Peanut Butter and Vanilla. Vegan swap: Opt for natural plant-based sources of omega-3s such as chia seeds, algae, hemp seeds, and flaxseed oil. Because carbs. Africa Studio / Shutterstock, Credit: In fact, it's commonly added to various alcoholic beverages, too, including those delicious Bloody Marys you love so much for brunch. Vanilla, Chocolate, Lemon, Pistachio, and Banana Creame are all vegan! That email doesn't look right. A non-dairy ice cream bar at Dairy Queen. The Home-Style Butter Cream, Caramel, Classic Chocolate, Vanilla, Coconut Pecan, Dark Chocolate Fudge, Lemon Supreme and Strawberry Cream varieties are all vegan. This vegan cumin sweet potato soup you can actually make in a blender. Not exactly exciting news for vegans (or anyone who loves Caesar dressing). America’s Favorite Cookie is vegan-friendly! Impact Photography / Shutterstock, Credit: Be wary of any food or drink that's unnaturally bright red, as red food dye can be made from beetles. Annie's Organic Worcestershire Sauce makes a great vegan alternative that tastes just like the real deal. Yep, Oreos are on the list. All Rights Reserved, 9 Lansdowne Street, Suite 2Boston, MA 02215, 5 Foodie Dating Sites Where You’re Guaranteed to Find Your Next Bae. Knowing what alcohol is or isn't safe for vegans can be tough. Sean Pavone / Shutterstock, Credit: WIN. Cheers to vegan buttercream! Oleksandra Naumenko / Shutterstock, Credit: 2. Yuriy Golub / Shuttertock, Credit: (Related: 6 Satisfying Vegan Smoothies). But it's not always easy for a vegan to tell which foods are safe and it can be even harder for someone new to vegan eating to decide which foods are truly vegan. It's anchovies. And it's exactly what it sounds like—charred bones. It's important to double-check labels and ingredient lists to avoid hidden animal-based ingredients in your foods and beverages. In Apple Crisp, Cinnamon, Peanut Butter, Pean Crunch, Roasted Almond AND Maple Brown Sugar. Make it at home. Pass us a sleeve with some soy cheese, please! We’re scratching our heads and itchin’ to look at ingredient lists. July 26, 2020. But those omega-3-boosted foods often use fish oil. By Tehrene Firman. And know that a "natural" color could mean it's from an animal source. Swap out the eggs and butter/oil for a can of soda or sparkling water and you’ve got yourself the fluffiest vegan cake you could ever want. You just have to do your research and look for it. Here's more on why you should eat colorful foods.). The amount of trendy restaurants, food blogs, and vegan-friendly products has exploded in recent years, making those who are meat, dairy, and egg free smile from ear to ear. (This isn't to say you shouldn't eat naturally red and beautiful whole fruits and veggies such as red bell peppers or watermelon. But what's important to note is that although sugarcane does come in contact with bones during its filtration, the sugar itself doesn't contain any animal products. By adding your email you agree to get updates about Spoon University Healthier. Ritz Crackers. Cocoa itself is vegan, but sometimes milk or milk products are added-even to dark chocolate. Some people may get finicky about food dye sources, but for most, all of the above are vegan-friendly. For example, white sugar can be filtered with bone char, charred animal bones that can make sugar appear whiter (although this process is reportedly used less and less in food these days).